DLR Logo
 
 
 
 
 
 

Corine Land Cover - Germany

The objective of the pan-European project CORINE Land Cover (CLC) is the provision of a unique and comparable data set of land cover for Europe. It is part of the European Union programme CORINE (Coordination of Information on the Environment). The mapping of the land cover and land use was performed on the basis of satellite remote sensing images on a scale of 1:100,000. The first CLC data base CLC1990, which was finalised in the 1990s, consistently provided land use information comprising 44 classes, out of which 37 classes are relevant in Germany.

In the project CORINE Land Cover 2000 (CLC2000), an update of the database and a mapping of changes have been accomplished using the year 2000 as reference. The project CLC2000, which resulted in area-wide land use and land use change maps of Germany, was led by the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) on behalf of the Federal Environmental Agency (UBA). With CLC2000 a reliable, objective and comparable data base for the description of the current situation (at 2000) and the analysis of changes during the decade between 1990 and 2000 is available.

For the update 2012 of land cover according to CORINE Land Cover classes, a specific national approach has been chosen in Germany. This approach uses the more accurate geometry of the Official Topographical Cartographic Information System ATKIS of the land survey authorities. DLM-DE, derived from ATKIS, is to be applied as base for the deduction of CLC classes. In the responsibility of the German Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy (BKG), the DLM-DE 2009 database was built-up for the reference year 2009 with a minimum mapping unit (MMU) of 1 ha. Currently, an updated DLM-DE 2012 database is under production by BKG; using methods of generalization, this database will be transferred into the CLC2012 database (CORINE Land Cover 2012, having 25 ha MMU due to the EU specifications).

Integrated in the European GMES activities, an update of CORINE Land Cover was done in 37 European countries with the reference year 2006, completed in most of the countries in 2010. The project CLC2006 in Germany was again performed by the German Remote Sensing Data Center, on behalf of the Federal Environment Agency (UBA). The update CORINE Land Cover 2006 for Germany is available since February 2010.

The German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) participates in CLC2012 concerning the second product of CLC2012, the change layer of land cover between 2006 and 2012, describing the development of land cover categories (with 5 ha MMU). Due to the methodological modification, the change layer cannot be deduced directly by BKG using the conventional CLC2006 and DLM-DE 2012 or the resulting CLC2012. Direct changes can be achieved only by comparing DLM-DE 2009 and DLM-DE 2012 for the period from 2009 to 2012. Therefore, the task of DLR-DFD in this project was to model changes between 2006 and 2009 in the detailed geometry of DLM-DE 2009. Therefore, a database "CLC2006_Backdating" had to be created by a backward look from DLM-DE 2009 to the situation of land cover / land use in 2006.








 

 

 

Land cover map of Germany (UBA / DLR)
Legend

Copyright © 2007 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Copyright © 2007 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

DLR Logo
 
 
 
 
 
 

Corine Landcover - Bodenbedeckungsdaten für Deutschland

Das europaweite Projekt CORINE Land Cover (CLC) hat die Bereitstellung von einheitlichen und damit vergleichbaren Daten der Bodenbedeckung für Europa zum Ziel. Es ist Teil des Programms CORINE (Coordination of Information on the Environment) der Europäischen Union. Die Kartierung der Bodenbedeckung und Landnutzung wurde europaweit auf der Basis von Satellitendaten im Maßstab 1:100.000 durchgeführt. Die Ersterfassung (CLC1990) erfolgte einheitlich nach 44 Landnutzungsklassen, von denen 37 Klassen in Deutschland relevant sind.

Im Rahmen von CORINE Land Cover 2000 (CLC2000) erfolgte die Aktualisierung des Datenbestandes zum Bezugsjahr 2000 und die Kartierung der Veränderungen gegenüber der Ersterfassung. Das Projekt CLC2000 und damit die flächendeckende Kartierung von Deutschland wurden im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA) vom Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) geleitet. Mit CLC2000 steht den Umweltbehörden und Planern eine verlässliche, objektive und vergleichbare Informationsgrundlage zur Beschreibung der aktuellen Situation um 2000 und zur Analyse der Veränderungen in der Dekade zwischen 1990 und 2000 zur Verfügung.

Eingebunden in die europaweiten Aktivitäten von GMES, wurde in 37 europäischen Staaten eine Aktualisierung von CORINE Land Cover mit dem Referenzjahr 2006 vorgenommen, die im Lauf des Jahres 2010 abgeschlossen wurde. Das Projekt CLC2006 für Deutschland wurde wiederum durch das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum im Auftrag des Umweltbundesamtes durchgeführt. Die Aktualisierung CORINE Land Cover 2006 für Deutschland ist seit Februar 2010 verfügbar.

Bei der europaweit erfolgenden Aktualisierung 2012 wird in Deutschland ein eigener Weg verfolgt. Dabei dienen die wesentlich genauere Geometrie des Amtlichen Topographisch - Kartographischen Informationssystem (ATKIS) der Landesvermessungsverwaltungen und das daraus erstellte Digitale Landbedeckungsmodell für Deutschland DLM-DE als Grundlage für die Ableitung der CLC-Klassen. In der Verantwortung des Bundesamtes für Kartographie und Geodäsie (BKG) wurde hierzu bereits für das Referenzjahr 2009 eine Datenbasis DLM-DE 2009 mit einer Mindestkartierfläche (MKF) von 1 ha aufgebaut. Zurzeit wird eine aktualisierte Datenbasis des DLM-DE 2012 vom BKG erstellt. Mittels Generalisierungsmethoden soll dieser in den Datensatz CLC2012 (mit 25 ha MKF laut den Spezifikationen der EU) überführt werden.

Das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum ist an der Erstellung des zweiten Produkts von CLC2012 beteiligt, dem Änderungsdatensatz der Landnutzung und Landbedeckung zwischen 2006 und 2012, der die Entwicklung der Landbedeckungskategorien (mit einer Mindestkartierfläche von 5 ha) beschreibt. Aufgrund des Methodenwechsels kann der Änderungsdatensatz nicht direkt aus dem CLC2006 und dem DLM-DE 2012 bzw. dem resultierenden CLC2012 durch das BKG abgeleitet werden, direkte Änderungen resultieren nur aus dem Vergleich von DLM-DE 2009 und DLM-DE 2012 für den Zeitraum 2009 bis 2012. Daher war es Aufgabe des DLR-DFD in einem vom Umweltbundesamt geförderten Vorhaben, die Anteile der Änderungen zwischen 2006 und 2009, in der detaillierten Geometrie des DLM-DE 2009, sowie den Status in 2006 zu modellieren.








 

 

 

Karte der Bodenbedeckung Deutschlands (UBA / DLR)
Legende

Copyright © 2007 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
Copyright © 2007 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.